Honors for Science and the Liberal Arts

Written by: Dean Maskevich,

Faculty, staff, students and alumni of the College of Science and Liberal Arts (CSLA) were recognized on May 5, 2016 for achievements that spanned the college’s departments and initiatives in research and education. In his introductory remarks at the annual awards ceremony, Dean Kevin Belfield congratulated the faculty for their increasing level of grant funding, engagement at conferences and other professional activities, and significant presence in notable publications. He also cited the accomplishments of students enrolled in the college, with the academic performance of student-athletes being a special point of pride.

Dean Kevin Belfield at the podium for the 2016 College of Science and Liberal Arts awards ceremony.

The awards program at the Campus Center began with the presentation of the CSLA Lifetime Achievement Award to Lillian Schwartz, who is best known for her pioneering work in computer-generated art and computer-aided art analysis, including graphics, film, video, animation, special effects, virtual reality and multimedia.

Schwartz joined those present for the ceremony at NJIT via Skype. Still vigorous after many creative decades, she also shared a new animated composition that enthralled her NJIT audience with 3D geometry and color.

Professor David Rothenberg, Department of Humanities, presented the lifetime award to the distinguished artist. In speaking about her numerous contributions at the very creative intersection of art and science, Rothenberg emphasized how her work — including collaboration in the 1960s with scientists and mathematicians at Bell Laboratories — constitute an ideal example of the complementary nature of science, technology and art. It is an ideal basic to the educational spirit of CSLA, he said.

The individual awards presented by Dean Belfield and department chairs recognized many diverse achievements. These included National Science Foundation CAREER grants for faculty members and alumni awards for graduates now distinguishing themselves in fields ranging from higher education and healthcare management to law and actuarial science.

Following is a complete list of all those recognized at the 2016 College of Science and Liberal Arts awards ceremony:

Distinguished Research Award

Zeyuan Qiu - Chemistry and Environmental Science

Rising Star Research Award

Alexei Khalizov - Chemistry and Environmental Science

Casey Diekman - Mathematical Sciences

Excellence in Service Award

Amitabha Bose - Mathematical Sciences

Excellence in Undergraduate Education Award

Cristiano Dias – Physics

Excellence in Teaching by University Lecturer

Richard Janow – Physics

Excellence in Teaching by Adjunct Faculty

Scott Kent – History

Excellence in Research for a Researcher Professor

Vasyl Yurchyshyn - Physics, Center for Solar - Terrestrial Research

Outstanding Staff

Eileen Michie - Mathematical Sciences

Outstanding Undergraduate Students

Veronica Bernardo - Biological Sciences

Chirag Arya - History

Amarelis Bracero - Humanities

William Ruys - Mathematical Sciences

Michelle Salzano - Physics

Andrew Esteves - Chemistry and Environmental Science

Outstanding Graduate Students

Andrea Roeser - Biological Sciences

Randolph J. Leiser - Mathematical Sciences

Natsuha Kuroda - Physics

Megha Thakkar - Chemistry and Environmental Science

Distinguished Alumni Award

Randle DeFalco - History

Tomlee L. Abraham - Humanities

Ignace Kuchazik - Mathematical Sciences

Jeremy Carlo - Physics

Rising Star Alumni Award

Franklin M. Chou - History, major in Law, Technology, and Culture

Jeffrey Pohlmeyer - Mathematical Sciences